The presentation of the NIC Gold Medal and NIC Silver Medal dates back more than 70 years, making it one of the oldest interfraternal traditions. The Gold Medal is the highest honor the Conference can bestow and recognizes lifelong service to the interfraternal community and/or the NIC. The Silver Medal recognizes exemplary service or leadership in a role or task that has advanced the fraternal movement.

2019 Gold Medal Honorees

William A. “Bill” Martin, III.


Bill Martin has been a constant presence supporting the interfraternal movement for nearly 40 years. He has had an exemplary career in which he earned a reputation for selfless leadership and dedicated service.

In 29 years as executive director, he navigated Phi Gamma Delta through many culture shifts, from the implementation of the fraternity’s first liability insurance program to the creation of a risk management policy and the adoption of alcohol-free housing. More recently, Bill successfully executed transformational strategic initiatives to significantly grow Phi Gamma Delta, increase the involvement of its alumni brothers and launch an effort to “Build Courageous Leaders.”

“Bill has provided a lifetime of service through his vocation, but he exemplifies what is means to be a fraternity man. Phi Gamma Delta and the fraternity movement are better because of Bill’s dedication,” a nominator said.

James B. Russell


A gifted writer and historian, Jim Russell has applied his communication skills to the betterment of the fraternal movement in channels no other executive has navigated. A vigorous champion of the fraternity/sorority movement, Jim is known for genuine authenticity, dedicated professionalism and a deep determination to serve.

“What distinguishes Jim Russell from the many other interfraternal leaders is his willingness to lead from the back as well as from the front,” one nominator said. “He has always been a ‘glue guy,’ the person who holds the team together, who does his job while helping others do theirs and who never seeks fame and recognition. His style and body of work speak to the essence of the Gold Medal – others have been helped or guided to improve what they do because of Jim.”

Jim became Delta Tau Delta’s eighth executive director in 2001 after a 25-year career in sports writing. He was responsible for launching the fraternity’s first member education initiative in 2008 and oversaw unprecedented organizational growth. By the time Jim retired in 2018, the fraternity had grown from 6,400 undergraduate members in 2001 to more than 10,000 in 2017.

He invested innumerable hours into projects and committees for the North American Interfraternity Conference, Fraternal Information and Programming Group, Fraternal Risk Management Trust and the Purdue Fraternity and Sorority Alumni Advisory Council.

2019 Silver Medal Honoree

John M. Green


John Green has been an engaged leader of Phi Kappa Tau for 60 years. He is an outstanding interfraternal brother, mentor, leader and fraternal man of distinction.

John’s long-time volunteer efforts – including a term as national president – came to a head in the 1980s when he was hired as the fraternity’s executive director. In that role he was instrumental in the founding of the Fraternal Risk Management Trust and Fraternal Information and Programming Group. After serving as the fraternity’s top administrator for a decade, he later agreed to become executive director of the Phi Kappa Tau Foundation, in which he guided a successful $6.5 million campaign before he retired in 2007.

“John always replied in the affirmative when his fraternity and the interfraternity community called. His leadership and passion was needed during a variety of historical moments. I continue to be very impressed with John’s vision, compassion, leadership and dedication as a fraternity man.”